Ben & Jerry’s…..it’s finally here

The last time I had Ben & Jerry’s I was in the Gold Coast & was having their yummy Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough! I had forgotten how deliciously decadent it was. I had then said I would move to Australia and leave New Zealand just for the ice cream.

Well I don’t have to leave this beautiful country anymore as Ben & Jerry’s is in New Zealand…they opened on 160 Ponsonby store on the 17th of December 2015. Christmas came early.

I heard the news through my news feed on Facebook where a colleague posted a photo of her success in procuring a pint of the Chocolate Fudge Brownie. On a Friday night with nothing on my calendar for the evening other then watching The Royals. I headed out on my mission to get me some ice cream.

The traffic was insane as the Franklin Road Christmas lights are on and everyone is driving down to see them and the traffic doesn’t clear until after Franklin Road. After about 20 mins in the traffic parked up at Ponsonby Central & headed over to the Ben & Jerry’s store. You will know you are in the right place when you see the queue around the block. The steadily moving queue.

The Scoop Shop is done up quite nicely with a massive window looking out on the road. There are wooden bar stools inside & outside.

BNJ 6
Scoop Shop Menu

The line moved quite quickly and i was in the store in about 15 mins. At the door you are greeted by a lovely girl dressed as a cow. They offer you a menu as seen above so that you can make your choice before you get in to make sure the crowd keeps moving.

BNJ

 

BNJ 2
Inside of the store looking towards the door

If you haven’t tried Ben & Jerry’s before you can try the ice creams before you buy. Not all the flavours are in pre-packaged pint but they are happy to pack them for you.

Upon walking in I was greeted by the lovely Crystal. She asked me to grab the Chocolate Fudge Brownie from the fridge and she will pack the Coconut Seven Layer bar. Both of the pints were packed in freezer bags to ensure they don’t melt before i get home. I heard her mention something about they last in the bags for 8 hours.

BNJ 5
Freezer Bags

The pints are currently $12.99 each which is expensive compared to the US and Australia and I am hoping this will go down over time. $5.90 for a scoop & $4.99 for the small tub.

BNJ 4.jpg

I love that the ice-cream has really bits in it as seen below in the image of the choice fudge brownie ice cream.

BNJ 3.jpg

If you are in Auckland it is worth a gander or if you are down at Franklin Road stop in for an ice cream they are open quite late.

In other news how gorgeous was the moon tonight ;-P

Moon 1.jpg

Ben & Jerry’s Ponsonby

160 Ponsonby Rd
Ponsonby, Auckland NZ
Phone Number: TBC
Hours: 11am-11pm Sun-Thu / 11am-12am Fri-Sat

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

